K97.5 Featured Video
Divine 9 Graphics

Source: Creative Services / iONE Digital

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was founded by 22 women on the campus of Howard University in Washington DC on January 13, 1913. Its founders were Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive C. Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza Pearl Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, and Edith Motte Young. It is the world’s largest Black Greek-Letter sorority, with over 350,000 members worldwide.

Motto: “Intelligence is the Torch of Wisdom”

Colors: Crimson and Cream

Symbol: Pyramid/Lady Fortitude

Famous Members Of Delta Sigma Theta  was originally published on blackamericaweb.com

1. Pat Smith

Pat Smith Source:false

2. Sheryl Lee Ralph and Natalie Cole

Sheryl Lee Ralph and Natalie Cole Source:false

3. K. Michelle

K. Michelle Source:false

4. Sheryl Lee Ralph and Angela Bassett

Sheryl Lee Ralph and Angela Bassett Source:false